Outdoor space open year round
Nearest facilities are found at The Morvah Schoolhouse and Cafe
Locally thought of as one of our most iconic prehistoric monuments, dating back to the early Neolithic Period, Lanyon Quoit** was originally 4 standing stones with a large capstone. Unfortunately it was damaged by a storm in 1815, and rebuilt 9 years later with only 3 standing stones.
A Quoit is thought of as burial chamber for the bones of the dead.
**The word Quoit comes from the Cornish legend that the capstones on the Quoits came to be there because they were thrown by the giants enjoying a game of quoits.